Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Kamu

Aku suka waktu kamu berkata 'Kamu'. Seindah apapun hujan malam itu 'Kamu'-mu tetap menang. Aku suka waktu kamu berkata 'Kamu' dalam jawabmu. Dengan tajam matamu, dan senyum lebarmu, sedikit dari setiap darimu yang memesona. Aku suka waktu kamu berkata 'Kamu' dalam jawabmu, meneguhkanku atas mimpiku yang nyata. Tidak perlu satupun dari sepasang tanganmu yang tegap untuk membawa semesta dalam genggamku. Aku suka waktu kamu berkata 'Kamu' dalam jawabmu, meneguhkanku atas mimpiku yang nyata, yang dengan mudah kau bingkaikan dalam akhir suatu perjalanan sederhana. Hei, Tuan! Aku suka 'Kamu'-mu.

Surabaya, 27 Februari 2013
Saya

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

New Trailer: The Philosophers (2013)

Today I got a news that Cinta Laura Kiehl, an Indonesian actress who has a distinct (and kinda funny) American accent when she talks (which my high school friends highlight and address glares at me out of my so-said-identical silly accent, in which I oppose), has been cast in two Hollywood titles; Resident Evil 6 and The Philosophers. Since I'm not much interested in the earlier franchise, I decide to seek some deets about the latter one. Can't bet my full hands on this film (I don't really know the masterminds behind it and I haven't heard much about it), but the trailer isn't bad, hey.

Kembali

Kamu berlari kencang dan tiba-tiba kamu tak mengenal loka, lalu kamu ingin pulang tapi tak lagi yakin akan rumah. Arti. Dia tidak adil. Biru lebur mengharu atas rasa tapi kamu tak pernah mau mendengar rajuk. Asa itu kau gantung di mana? Semua yang kau percaya itu semu! Kabur pandangmu dan badai pasir mulai merajam tubuhmu. Matahari memang terang tapi kamu tak pernah harus bertahan menatapnya. Dengar inderamu mengadu sia, berdirilah tegap, tatap musuhmu! Kembalilah ke bumimu. Tidurlah sendiri saja seperti yang kamu senang. Lalu temukan dirimu, jangan lagi hilang.

Surabaya, Desember 2012
Saya

Thursday, January 31, 2013

Paperman

The cutest ever little short is on youtube now! Watch the amazing (probably the best I've ever watched) Paperman - Full Animated Short Film here.

P.s: I'm ALL rooting for it for the Academy :DDD do you?

Imaji

"Sempit bukan? Dunia kita. Apa bisa aku benar-benar lari darimu? Bahkan aku yakin aku belum meninggalkan kursi itu. Dalam pikiranku, pikiranmu, terukur jalan yang berkalilipat panjangnya daripada dunia kita. Labirin yang berkelok, satu kelam, satu sesak. Tidak masalah. Suatu hari nanti aku akan datang kepadamu membawa sejuta pelukan dari dunia yang sempit ini. Yang memborgol asaku untuk bermuara padamu. Yang egois dan tidak merindukan cintamu kepadanya (dunia kita itu). Suatu hari nanti, aku akan berlutut menggenggam tanganmu yang dingin, mencari tatapanmu yang marah. Dunia kita akan terkejut betapa aku bisa meredam keakuanku untukmu, juga betapa kau bisa tertekuk pada bayangan hitamku. Lalu kita akan berlalu dan hidup dalam mimpimu, atau mimpiku, jika kau mau. Kilometer-kilometer itu akan bersenandung iri melihat langkah kita, tapi mereka bahagia, sudah lama kita tidak bahagia. Aku tidak peduli berapa kali kita harus terjatuh. Tidak masalah. Nanti toh aku bersamamu, satu bagian besar dari segala yang kubutuhkan. Aku tidak peduli berapa kali buihku harus meyakinkanmu bahwa kau, untukku. Karena kau untukku, kalau kau memang untukku. Akupun tidak takut jika nanti dunia dimenangkan oleh hujan yang melucuti sentuhmu, dan aku tidak akan lagi marah pada mega. Karenamu. Takutkah kau akan waktu? Jangan, waktu tidak habis, tidak untuk firman. Dan jika memang tidak ada lagi waktu untuk maumu, harusku, maka kemarin adalah sore yang cukup indah. Jangan datang padaku di petang yang salah, aku tidak akan bergeming. Bertemanlah dengan masa, dan dirimu sendiri, sisakan sedikit ruang untuk pulangku, jika akhir takdirku. Jangan kau melihat dunia yang sempit itu, dunia kita itu. Yang sesak, dan nisbi. Kau, aku, tidak tercipta untuk dunia itu. Tunggu, tidak, jangan tunggu. Maju sajalah, arus kita tak jauh. Ini dunia yang sempit. Ia tidak mampu meneropong puncak Hira insan manapun, jika suatu hari mereka mendaki, dan bertatap."

Surabaya, 26 November 2012
Saya

100 years style in 100 seconds

Have you been a faithful follower of youtube? I'm not always fond of it, but I found this video that's been my favorite youtube entry, ever.

100 YEARS / STYLE / EAST LONDON by Westfield Stratford


The viral video is an ingenious act of styles-by-decade compilations with amazing choreography and brilliant back sound, yes, complete 100 years in 100 seconds, and everything's perfect. What's not to love?

Breakdown as follows...

Review: Born to Die (2012) and Born to Die Paradise Edition (2012) Lana Del Rey


Today I'm gonna give a penny of thought on Lana Del Rey's albums, Born To Die, and its extended version, Born To Die: Paradise Edition.


BORN TO DIE (THE 2012 ALBUM - LANA DEL REY)

  • Released: January 27, 2012
  • Genre: Baroque pop, indie pop, trip hop, sadcore
  • Label: Interscope, Polydor, Stranger
  • Producers: Patrik Berger, Jeff Bhasker, Chris Braide, Emile Haynie, Justin Parker, Rick Nowels, Robopop, Al Shux
  • Grade: B
  • Pricing: IDR 75,000
  • Favorite tracks: Born to Die, Off to the Races
  • Thoughts:
These songs are not those which gets stuck in your head on the first play. I have to admit that I once took Diet Mountain Dew as nothing special. Upon listening Blue Jeans, though it may had been helped with its stunning MV, I got gradually attached until the point that I couldn't live a minute without listening to it.

Lana Del Rey's vocal might not be flawless, but it's very complementing on the overall chasm that she's trying to build; darkness, misery, and a devilish life. It's somewhat a refreshment from the power pop cult like Katy Perry's or Lady Gaga's. The music is rich and haunting, forever refusing to go off after several tunes you made. The ambiance built by her voice's allure is authentic that even on the earliest notes you would know it's the self-acclaimed-gangsta-Nancy-Sinatra. The tracks Born to Die, Video Games and Blue Jeans themselves can probably depict the whole album. Nice tunes include Radio which is a semi-biography of Lana's recent fame and This is what makes us girls which is strangely far from being girl-power-ish :|. Plus, don't miss Off to The Races which probably has the most irresistibly lush orchestration with a tinge of Vladimir Nobokov's "Light of my life, fire of my loins" (Lolita, 1955).

Another easter bunny donned less enticingly is The Verve's Bittersweet Symphony intro cut in National Anthem. Actually, we like it when she sings the "Red, white, blue's in the sky/Summer's in the air and baby heaven's in your eyes" but the rest of the song remains shallow. Speaking about shallow, the whole album is eventually lacking of morals shown by the lyrics focusing on money, money love, and insanity (or such). Besides, it's got generally slapdash and poorly elaborated lyrics. Don't buy it? Catch "Money is the reason/we exist" and its cliques. Idealists no likey.

However, we need to agree that Lana is an avid songwriter and that the melodies are so addictive we might not be objective within our early moments of dependence.

VERDICTS: Born to die has a serious issue of dependence effects and beware of its withdrawal syndrome. However if you look again, there are actually flaws that you overlooked of its early subjection of haunting melody. Commercial success, but live shows not guaranteed.


BORN TO DIE: THE PARADISE EDITION (2012 - LANA DEL REY)


The extended version of the Dame's long awaited successful commercial debut

  • Released: November 9, 2012
  • Genre: Baroque pop, indie pop, trip hop, sadcore
  • Label: Interscope, Polydor, Stranger
  • Producers: Rick Nowels, Justin Parker, Rick Rubin
  • Grade: C+
  • Pricing: IDR 115,000
  • Favorite tracks: Ride, Yayo
  • Thoughts:
I'm not pretty sure about the marketing strategy of this EP release.With the addition of 8 new tracks I'm pretty sure it's decent to release a whole new record instead. It's pretty much a waste if you have purchased its predecessor record AND the new record with the same song PLUS new materials for a price about its triple. It results to people opting to just free-download the EP from the net rather than buying the new one. I just don't think it's fair for people who have bought Born to Die just to see the Paradise Edition releases soon after.................. (sorry it's personal).

Well anyway this EP includes several very nice tracks such as Ride which is weepy but pretty grand with Lana's distinct retro Hollywood demeanor. Yayo got a sick melody, having a psychotic lair that's Lana-ish-ly depressive and noir. Kudos to Marilyn Monroe and Elvis Presley in Body Electric was also performed nicely. Bel Air is very soundtrack-y but with an identical senseless lyrics. I don't really favor the way it promotes taboo. And, "my pussy tastes like cherry cola" would not be taken into an idealist's liking. Overall it offers the very same ambiance, the feeling of being in a tribute to old noir films.

VERDICT: It's Born to Die with new notes and a wee bit of an improve, just a little bit.

To all who came here by Tumblr. link

LOL GOTCHA WELCOME TO 
MY RENEWED BLOG LOL

I'm going places


I have a burning desire of conquering the land of men’s earth. I haven’t had a devoted pair of feet, I know. But I AM going places, someday. Here is a ramble about me and my future invoice marks (pseudo-intelligent-trivia-free, for your convenience) that visions are yet for me to grasp.


The City of the Incas
Struck to a bouncing awe describes my first visual of Machu Picchu. I have since then taken an oath to conquer this city above the clouds. Anyone care to touch the ruins of lost civilization’s sky?


The Valkyriors' armors shine
Fancy catching a glimpse of paradise’s halo as I do? The northern light on Iceland’s winter eve offers a heaven-sent sighting and an apparent outer world experience.


The wonder of Kasmir
Whether it’s Taj Mahal (well, it mainly is Taj Mahal), the all unique folklores and distinctively friendly personalities, India is an ultimately remarkable go to. Don’t forget the outrageously captivating Kasmir by its Pakistani border.


Autumn in the World's capital of culture, Kyoto
It is a love story. Japan and I are a form of unresolved infatuation. There is an eternal flaming luster of its Godly vista and abundantly rich culture. To me, there’s no cluster of dust in Japan distant from the word exotic. A heritage endearingly preserved and a history so distinguished, all packaged into a bundle of beauty that is, Japan.

I will seemingly update this post later…

Buff Updates


Magic Mike. LOL. It was a personal awkward moment when those guys do the… ‘show’. Turned out pretty arty for a comedy, not saying if it was a good/bad thing. Hate the ending. Plot’s nothing special. Pettyfer’s fit! But I didn't really sense the depth of his character. Tatum played it. Didn't fancy McConaughey much though, probably it’s just the role. Overall, okay with it. Think it’s the male stripper thingy the only thing that stood out.

ParaNorman. When I said 2012 decided to go big with animations, I meant huge. ParaNorman does ring the bells to Frankenweenie, the Victor in Norman is sensible. It is more light-hearted yet less innocent (harsh words and stuff) though. Liked it!! RotG might have given more ‘feels’ but this one becomes only second to Wreck it Ralph in my 2012 animations list of hits. P.s: Neil’s so cute I think he could be a plushie figure.

Perfect Pitch. Hell yeah chick flick! Taking a break from hardcore and serious routines is goooood. Was it really chick flick? Maybe not, but I’d like to think so (as it’s no more many of them anymore out there). Can’t blab much about the techies, but it’s amusing yet neat. Plot’s flat though. Still, enjoyed it! P.s: Freddie Stroma was saucy as hell.

Seven Psychopaths. This one’s certainly not ordinary. The plot’s really interesting and the twists are cool. However last night wasn’t the rightest time to watch it as I wanted to escape any gores. Would have better opinions by others. P.s: seriously Bonny made me think if I wanted a dog, he’s just too cute!

Cloud Atlas. Wasn’t confident with this one. For half of the movie I was like ‘what the hell these stuff are all about’ and when I figured it out it was ‘oh, okay’. Didn’t gimme the joy of confusion like Inception did. But it was still good, the plot, the art direction. Scoring’s fantastic (personally). Don’t really get the make up design (A Korean Sturgess? Would be nice to make him look like a Korean). Still kinda like it anyway! Hottie alert! Sturgess, Ben Whishaw (!), and I swear I just had to watch all over again since I missed Hugh Grant all over. Geez I thought I was a fan!

2013

Know it’s a bit late for a resolutions, but if I don’t jot it down somewhere open I’ll just pull another 2012 forgetting it halfway.

RESOLUTIONS

1. Visit at least 10 countries. So I have this plan for this year’s summer that some might have figured. I think I will do a lot of whirlwind countries wandering in that blue continent. It’s gonna be challenging as I’m going solo and not for the sole purpose of travelling but also researching. Plus, I lately miss the Holy Land so much and there has been a talk for a family visit. I hope it does come true somehow. Anyway, I think this whole going abroad will be some kind of highlight in 2013. I hope it’s for a great great cause. Amin.
2. Be more religious, and this time, ritualious (lol does such word even exist). I admit that I’m downright low in sunnah do(s). So along with pimping up my wajib ones, this will make a checkpoint. It’s unfair to expect Him to be persistent in granting the thing we love yet we’re not persistent in doing the things He loves, right?
3. Ace clerkship. I get it that my preclinical studies results are very subtle. But you know yesterday’s over and we do have this kind of resolution every year. I envision a bright clerkship year and a full comprehension for the next stage of my band-aid adventure.
4. Find the right guy, like, seriously now. Everyone gets tired of fooling around. As a September-born, I demand settlement. This year’s I’ll be 20 and soon I will be graduating. I think it’s almost the time now… LOL NO-actually it’s a family request. I’d just stop fooling around that’s the point.
5. Get a part-time job. My dreams are big and making them true needs a lot of kaching! It doesn’t hurt to find a break from the smell of Softaman to the air of Surabaya and earn some bits of dough after that. I might just do some light works though, probably exploiting what I already got so that it doesn’t add to my stress.
6. Write, and write a lot. I find joy in writing. And I think rather than playing the Sims or DVD marathon-ing it’s actually a better thing to do for killing time as you actually produce something. It makes sense that actually the actualization form of reading, watching, or basically absorbing anything, is absolutely telling it. And the best way to tell about things? Writing. It’s less noisy and needs no unprovidable drawing tinges that would be very helpful for me.
7. Retire from any working organizations and start finding ONE interest club. I faced, and was a part of, the rise and the falls of some works in organizations. I figured that I hadn’t been eligible enough to level up other’s livings and it’s one big life lesson that a club sandwich is sometimes too thick to swallow. I’m thinking of being more selfish and level up myself to find a sanctuary where I could use the most of my pseudo-intelligence (yes, I possess that). So… anyone has a link to a history/art/literature/movies/culture/world movement club in town?
8. Look pretty. This includes living healthy, drinking enough water a day, combating against coffee (but not tea-I can’t I just can’t), exercising, getting nice outfits that are classy, edgy, and sweet in the right amounts, and watching makeup tutorials in youtube… only for attending wedding parties!
9. Stop harming muh luvlybabezzz L 1776 EA xoxo gurlzz. I know I’ve been hard on her. So it says basically what it says. I’ll stop crashing into things and try to tend it as much as I can.
10. Make a research paper. Because LOL IT’S AN ASSIGNMENT?!?!?!!!

WISHLISTS

1. US$ 30.000. That is, to buy an own housing. Subsidized apartment will do!
2. An updated iPad. I don’t own an iPad, and I think I need it when on the go.
3. Hardcase suitbags. Which is a lot, ‘me’.
4. Schengen’s visa.
5. Clerkship books. I haven’t even listed any of them! Help me maybe?

Review: Les Miserables (Movie) 2012


Anne Hathaway as Fantine, praised by many and is deemed to be an Oscar-winning performance

Who would have known that Wolverine and Catwoman can sing? Tom Hooper (The King's Speech)'s take on silver-screening the ever-so-famous Broadway highlight based on Victor Hugo's epic with exact title was an ambitious effort...

487,561 centuries later...



Long time no see, eh? Well I apparently have got enough of my tumblr.'s lack of archive and poor navigations, which is actually can be mended by changing the theme. Anyways I'm very attached to that theme so yeah I figure I'll just swap back to my lame dusty old blogspot. I kinda miss this blog. When I revisit this though it was like, ugh, and I decided to bring a little refreshment for your convenience. Besides link (now this blog's address goes at http://shoozleschmoozle.blogspot.com which I think is silly hahaha) I also change its complete appearance. So how do you like this blog new look? As for myself, I think I never had a better looking one :3

So why chatty all of a sudden, Sitha? Okay so these past days Summer break has been taking place. My friends all go over another part of the world and I'm sadly left alone here in the middle of undone research project and all the unfinished college grudges. I spend my time mostly by visiting eateries, watching movies, and tuning to new songs which is nice but not nice when it comes to commenting and no one hearing you (Gosh do I look pathetic enough now?). Well anyways I started writing commentaries about movies in my tumblr. in which I resent (look up if you forget why). Now maybe during this break I'll be spending time writing here because lately I find joy in writing. So please welcome me back. Thank you.

For the moment though I'll be just transferring my earlier shambles of rambles in tumblr. since my slumber has been echoing my name on and on. Ciao and talk to you very soon :)

P.S: TO MY OLD READERS PLEASE COME BACK OKAY thank you.